YREACH in Nova Scotia – a great way to meet new people, all while getting the support you need!

Our provincial YMCA YREACH Program provides information, orientation, and settlement/integration support to Immigrants, Refugees, and their families who are new to communities outside of HRM.

We work with local partners to create welcoming communities and have staff in multiple smaller centres across the province

  • 9 in-person, local Settlement and Integration support sites
  • Over 20 different Language Instruction sites

Our program includes:

  • In-person Individual settlement services
  • Community Orientation
  • Social events and recreational opportunities
  • School Settlement activities
  • Solution-focused counselling and advocacy
  • Awareness presentations on immigration benefits
  • Referrals
  • Support in accessing services
  • Community collaboration
  • In-person Language instruction
  • Needs Assessments and Settlement Plans for Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program (AIPP) participants

 

We currently have 9 YREACH locations throughout Nova Scotia and YREACH staff can be contacted directly for further information on the services provided in each community.

 


Location

YREACH Staff

Contact Information
Amherst
YREACH Office
The YMCA of Cumberland
92 Church St.,
Amherst NS, B4H 4A1
Heeyeon Son Email: heeyeon.son@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 397-1787
Bridgewater
YREACH office
YMCA Lunenburg County
75 High St.,
Bridgewater NS, B4V 1V8
Samir Upadhyay Email: samir.upadhyay@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 543-9622
M: (902) 880-4040
Digby
YREACH Office
Fundy YMCA
1043 Hwy 1,
Cornwallis NS, B0S 1H0
Nadine Lauren Email: nadine.lauren@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 638-8095
M: (902) 249-0150
Kentville
YREACH Office
Valley Community Learning Association
49 Cornwallis St. #106,
Kentville NS, B4N 2E3
Sarah Ehler Email: sarah.ehler@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 679-5252
M: (902) 670-4103
New Glasgow
YREACH Office
176 Archimedes St.
New Glasgow,
NS B2H 2T6
Lilly Selvaraj

Carol Paris

Email: lilly.selvaraj@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (306) 630-3416

Email: Carol.paris@halifax.ymca.ca

Port Hawkesbury
YREACH Office
Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre
606 Reeves St.,
Port Hawkesbury NS, B9A 2R7
Trina Samson Email: trina.samson@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 631-2563
Sydney
YREACH Office
500 George St. Suite 150
Sydney NS,
B1P 1K6
Rob Martin Email: rob.martin@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 217-0565
Truro
YREACH Office
Maggie’s Place
1027 Prince St.,
Truro NS, B2N 1H7
Esther Bejarano Email: esther.bejarano@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 471-5563
M: (902) 899-4573
Yarmouth
YREACH Office
YMCA Yarmouth
275 Main St.,
Yarmouth NS, B5A 4B1
Dolores Atwood Email: dolores.atwood@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 742-7181
M: (902) 307-1413

 

Language Instruction Sites:

Amherst Petit-de-Grat
Antigonish Pictou
Cheticamp Port Hawkesbury
Cornwallis Porters Lake
Digby Shelburne
Elmsdale Springhill
Mabou St. Andrews
Margaree Sydney
Musquodoboit Harbour Truro
New Glasgow Yarmouth
Oxford

 

For information on the overall YREACH program, contact:

Inhae Park
YREACH Provincial Co-ordinator
inhae.park@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 457-6871

For Language Instruction program inquiries, contact:

Josh White
YREACH Language Lead
josh.white@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 457-6886