YREACH in Nova Scotia – a great way to meet new people, all while getting the support you need!

Our provincial YMCA YREACH Program provides information, orientation, and settlement/integration support to Immigrants, Refugees, and their families who are new to communities outside of HRM.

We work with local partners to create welcoming communities and have staff in multiple smaller centres across the province

  • 9 in-person, local Settlement and Integration support sites
  • Over 20 different Language Instruction sites

Our program includes:

  • In-person Individual settlement services
  • Community Orientation
  • Social events and recreational opportunities
  • School Settlement activities
  • Solution-focused counselling and advocacy
  • Awareness presentations on immigration benefits
  • Referrals
  • Support in accessing services
  • Community collaboration
  • In-person Language instruction
  • Needs Assessments and Settlement Plans for Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program (AIPP) participants

 

We currently have 9 YREACH locations throughout Nova Scotia and YREACH staff can be contacted directly for further information on the services provided in each community.

 


Location

YREACH Staff

Contact Information
Amherst
YREACH Office
Heyeon Son Email: heyeon.son@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 397-1787
Bridgewater
YREACH office
Samir Upadhyay Email: samir.upadhyay@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 880-4040
Fundy
YREACH Office
Lindsay Longmire Email: lindsay.longmire@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 638-8095
Kentville
YREACH Office
Phill Craik Email: phill.craik@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 802-3642
New Glasgow
YREACH Office
Wendy Hughes Email: wendy.hughes@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 771-1410
Port Hawksbury
YREACH Office
Trina Samson Email: trina.samson@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 631-2563
Sydney
YREACH Office
Rob Martin Email: rob.martin@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 217-0565
Truro
YREACH Office
Esther Bejarano Email: esther.bejarano@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 899-4573
Yarmouth
YREACH Office
Dolores Atwood Email: dolores.atwood@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 307-1413

 

Language Instruction Sites:

Amherst Petit-de-Grat
Antigonish Pictou
Cheticamp Port Hawkesbury
Cornwallis Porters Lake
Digby Shelburne
Elmsdale Springhill
Mabou St. Andrews
Margaree Sydney
Musquodoboit Harbour Truro
New Glasgow Yarmouth
Oxford

 

For information on the overall YREACH program, contact:

Inhae Park
YREACH Provincial Co-ordinator
inhae.park@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 457-6871

For Language Instruction program inquiries, contact:

Josh White
YREACH Language Lead
josh.white@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 457-6886