“My family doesn’t have to travel to get the services we need. We have in-person support right now in our Community”

Our provincial YMCA Settlement Program provide place-based settlement and languages support to Immigrant, Refugees, and their families who are new to communities outside of HRM.

We work with local partners to create welcoming communities and have staff in multiple smaller centres across the province

  • 9 in-person, local Settlement and Integration support sites
  • Over 20 different Language Instruction sites

Our program includes:

  • In-person Individual and group settlement services
  • Community Orientation and support in accessing services
  • Social events and recreational opportunities
  • Child and Youth Programming
  • Solution-focused counselling and advocacy
  • Awareness raising and welcoming communities initiatives
  • Community collaboration and referrals
  • In-person Language instruction
  • Needs Assessments and Settlement Plans for Atlantic Immigration Pilot Program (AIPP) participants

 

We currently have 9  locations throughout Nova Scotia and YREACH and Provincial Settlement Staff can be contacted directly for further information on the services provided in each community.

 


Location

Settlement Staff

Contact Information
Amherst
Office
The YMCA of Cumberland

92 Church St.,
Amherst NS, B4H 4A1
Heeyeon Son

YREACH Settlement Staff

Email: heeyeon.son@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 397-3915
Bridgewater
Office
YMCA Lunenburg County

75 High St.,
Bridgewater NS, B4V 1V8
Samir Upadhyay

YREACH Settlement Staff

Email: samir.upadhyay@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 543-9622
M: (902) 880-4040
Digby
Office
Fundy YMCA

1043 Hwy 1,
Cornwallis NS, B0S 1H0
Nadine Lauren

YREACH Settlement Staff

Email: nadine.lauren@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 638-8095
M: (902) 249-0150
Kentville
Office
Valley Community Learning Association

49 Cornwallis St. #106,
Kentville NS, B4N 2E3
Sarah Ehler

YREACH Settlement Staff

Kae O’Connell

Employment and Education Lead

Email: sarah.ehler@halifax.ymca.ca

Email: kae.oconnell@halifax.ymca.ca
M: (902) 599-0887

New Glasgow
Office
352 East River Road, New Glasgow NS B2H 3P7
Lilly Selvaraj

YREACH Settlement Staff

Carol Paris

Child and Youth Settlement Worker

Email: lilly.selvaraj@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (306) 630- 3416Email: Carol.paris@halifax.ymca.caTel: (902) 579-6539
Port Hawkesbury
Office
Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre

606 Reeves St.,
Port Hawkesbury NS, B9A 2R7
Trina Samson

YREACH Settlement Staff

Email: trina.samson@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 631-2563
Sydney
Office
500 George St. Suite 150

Sydney NS,
B1P 1K6
Rob Martin

YREACH Settlement Staff

Email: rob.martin@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 217-0565
Truro
Office
Maggie’s Place

1027 Prince St.,
Truro NS, B2N 1H7
Esther Bejarano

YREACH Settlement Staff

Email: esther.bejarano@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 471-5563
M: (902) 899-4573
Yarmouth
Office
YMCA Yarmouth

255 Main St.,
Yarmouth NS, B5A 1E2
Dolores Atwood

YREACH Settlement Staff

Email: dolores.atwood@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 742-7181
M: (902) 307-1413

 

Language Instruction Sites:

Amherst Oxford
Antigonish Pictou
Cheticamp Port Hawkesbury
Cornwallis Porter Lake
Digby Shelburne
Elmsdale Springhill
Mabou Sydney
Margaree Truro
Musquodoboit Harbour Yarmouth
New Glasgow

 

For information on the overall YREACH program, contact:

Shehab Matar
YREACH Settlement Coordinator
shehab.matar@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (782) 234-5096

For Language services inquiries, contact:

Rachael Bethune
Language Lead
rachael.bethune@halifax.ymca.ca
Tel: (902) 213-3252